#jan25, day 18

The solidarity I feel with the anti-regime Egyptian demonstrators grows.  Yesterday, was such an up and down day, such an emotional day.

Most of the day we were led to believe that Mubarak would resign and that the chances were that the military were staging a benevolent coup.  Anticipation rose in me and in many other solidarity-givers & protesters.

The atmosphere in Tahrir seemed carnival, full of expectation. In cyberspace we were having a laugh at Mubarak’s expense with the Twitter hashtag ##ReasonsMubarakIsLate

Then came Mubarak’s much anticipated speech.

After only a few minutes of Mubarak starting to speak, it was evident he was not going to step down.  The disappointment I felt was very strong, I can imagine (but most likely severely underestimate) the disappointment of those in Tahrir.

I was furious and I was scared.  I did not want to believe that Mubarak could be so selfish, I was a fool to think he had changed his colour.  I was scared that the protesters would feel the same as me and want to do something out of step with their normally peaceful protest.

I should not have feared, for while protesters did indeed converge on the dishonourable state TV station and the Presidential palace, they did not try to storm it or try to get past the troops stationed there – I’m not sure I would have been that brave, that peaceful.

I went to sleep late and woke up early, fearing the worst – that the military under Suleiman the Torturer had attacked the unarmed protesters.  Fortunately my fears were unfounded and I read & saw protesters in place and no reports of mass murder.

Now I wait and watch, wondering what will happen today. Friday has usually brought the biggest protest turnouts, I hope today every Egyptian gets out onto the streets to show the regime & the military what they want.  I hope that the military sees this and unequivocally sides with the protesters.  By unequivocally, I don’t mean just by words, I mean by actions.  they must take over the prisons and torture chambers & release ALL political prisoners.  They must take the torturers into military custody.  That, to me, would signal the Egyptian military is unequivocally on the Egyptian peoples side.

My advice to the protesters is hope for the best but plan for the worst.  Protest peacefully but have a plan B. Plan B is guerilla warfare. While many think it is romantic to become a martyr peacefully protesting, I value my life and would not go down without a fight.  I would plan entry/exit routes, attack points, supply drops. One has to think like the enemy to be able to stay one step ahead of the enemy and defeat the enemy. The regime is doing this, I would make plans to do it as well. Hopefully those those plans would not be needed, but if they were needed, it’s better to be prepared than massacred.

Good luck #jan25.  I can’t be physically in Egypt, but I will do what I can from where I am.

This entry was posted in The Freedom Revolution(s) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

